In this Blog category you will find articles about distracted driving that cause motor vehicle accidents and how to avoid them. Personal Injury suits and insurance claims may require the help of an attorney. A good lawyer can protect your rights under the law.
Driver assistance technologies in today’s motor vehicles are already helping to save lives and prevent injuries.
We don't want to show you all the issues with distracted driving without giving you some helpful resources to combat it! Here are some ways your phone can help you to be a safer and less distracted driver!
When we drive- that's all we should be doing. 100% attention on driving. This video is horrific but it does show us the high price of our distractions. All it takes in a moment to change or end a life.
If that hasn't been enough to convince you to put the phone down while driving... Let's look at the fines in Oregon. Check out the Video: It may save your life or at the least, $1K..
Over 2.5 million people in the U.S. are involved in road accidents each year. The population of the US is just 318.9 million. At this rate, the American people could be extinct in two human lifespans. This is an astounding number of traffic accidents.
"The common response is 'Well, I didn't have it up to my ear.' Well, it doesn't matter, if you're holding the phone, if you're touching your phone other than the one swipe, it's a violation."
The FAQ on Auto Insurance: How much do you need and how much will it cost!
Even though most states, including Oregon, ban texting and other kinds of cell phone use while driving, cell phone laws are sometimes difficult to enforce. With a device called a Textalyzer, police officers at the scene of an accident could tell if phone use was involved in the crash.
According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), more than eight people are killed every day in the United States and 1,161 injured in crashes that are reported to involve a distracted driver. Including those not […]
Beginning October first, Oregonians can expect police to pay closer attention to their habits behind the wheel. On that day, the state’s new, fortified distracted driving law will have taken effect. The new law makes it easier for distracted drivers to get pulled over by police, who can now issue citations to anyone holding any electronic device. The new law seeks to address gaping loopholes in the old law, which let people use their digital devices for everything except talking and texting. Ultimately, the goal is to reduce instances of auto […]
Nationwide, distracted drivers account for one in ten traffic fatalities and 18 percent of traffic injuries, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Because one life lost is one too many, neighboring Washington and Oregon states have recently expanded their distracted driving laws banning cellphone use.
Washington Adds Any Mobile Electronic Device to its Distracted Driving Law
Beginning July 23, 2017, those driving in Washington who are caught reading, writing, or viewing messages, pictures and data on any handheld electronic device, even while stopped at a red light, stop sign, or in stop-and-go traffic can be ticketed.
A decade ago, Washington was the first state with a texting ban. Following a 30 percent increase in distracted driving fatalities in the state between 2014 and 2015, the Washington State House in May approved expanding its “Driving under the Influence of Electronics” law with a 46-13 vote, which bans holding a cellphone or other electronic device while driving or stopped in traffic. After a 21-8 vote of approval in the Senate, the bill returned to the House for concurrence with Senate amendments.
Before, drivers in Washington could only be ticketed for texting and holding a phone to their ear. Now use of any mobile electronic device while driving, except to call 911 or emergency services, is considered a primary offense, subject to a fine of $136 for the first offense and $234 for the second. The violation will then be reported to the driver’s insurance company and will appear on the driver’s record. During the first several months, Washington State Highway Patrol will issue only warnings to educate motorists.
Eating, smoking and grooming, or anything that is not driving will also be a secondary offense (“Driving dangerously distracted”), subject to an extra fine of $99. Drivers engaged in those distracting behaviors will not be stopped unless, at the time, they were committing a separate primary offense, such as speeding or failing to signal.
If you think the law is too strict, think about this: texting takes a driver’s eyes off the road for 5 seconds, enough time to drive the entire length of a football field at 55 miles per hour while blind-folded.
Oregon’s Driving under the Influence of Electronics Law to Be Enacted in October
The Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) sees traffic fatalities caused by distracted driving as an epidemic. According to a report from ODOT’s Distracted Driving Task Force, in Oregon a crash caused by distracted driving occurs approximately every three hours. Between 2011 and 2015, distracted drivers caused 8,951 crashes in Oregon that resulted in 54 deaths, with fourteen of those deaths related to the use of a cellphone.
With those grim statistics in mind, in May 2017 the Oregon legislature passed 46-13 “Driving under the Influence of Electronics “ law House bill 2597, imposing a fine of up to $2000 for using a “mobile electronic device” while driving. Fines for a first offense could total $1000, but could be erased if drivers take a state-approved distracted driving avoidance class at their own expense. Following offenses, or a first offense that causes a traffic collision, would result in higher fines that could not be waived. In June 2017, the Senate passed the bill with a 21-8 vote, and sent it back to the House for concurrence with revisions, to be enacted on October 1. […]